Spiritual Companion Group Training

To learn to convene a Spiritual Companion Group and practice the skills of being a good Companion. This ongoing training refreshes active practitioners, strengthens new groups and orients newcomers.

Ongoing Training: in March, July and November annually

2021: July 16/17 & Nov 12/13 (N Am/Asia)

2022: March 11/12, July 15/16 & Nov 11/12 (N Am/Asia)

Friday, 7-10pm Eastern USA on Zoom

July Fri/Sat start: 4p Pacific, 12a London, 7a Manila, 9a Sydney, 11a Auckland

Nov & April Fri/Sat start: 4p Pacific, 12a London, 8a Manila, 11a Sydney, 1p Auckland

Participants

  • This workshop is for people who meet as companions (of 2-4 members) mutually committed to experiment with allowing the Living Spirit to guide and shape their lives, as expressed in their own words.
  • Participants come from Quaker Meetings; other religious, interfaith, community or counseling groups; and peace and justice movements.
  • We encourage all ages, typically teens through adults, but interested pre-teens are welcome. This is a great opportunity for cross-generational relationships.
  • Individuals may attend to learn about this practice, but we encourage you to attend as a group with 2-4 people who meet or plan to meet as a companion group.

 

Donations: Suggested donation $20/session. Please donate as you’re able to keep the work alive!

Mail checks made out to:

Conscience Studio
90 W University St
Alfred, NY 14802

Register: For Zoom link at: https://bit.ly/3g8lt8T

Materials: Purchase Walking in the World as a Friend

An Introduction

The Quaker Religious Education Collaborative (QREC) is an international, cross-branch, grassroots network of Friends sharing a stewardship for lifelong Quaker faith formation through religious education. We formed in April 2014 and now serve more than 300 Friends in our network. We actively engage and support each other across languages and continents. We gather for regional and annual conferences and offer monthly Conversation Circles via an online conferencing platform.

Steering Circle

We share leadership as part of our collaborative mission, making decisions using the Quaker ‘sense of the meeting’ process, sitting in expectant, worshipful waiting for the emergence of shared truth. Read more…

Working Circles

Hand Icon

Our work  takes place in ‘circles’ or small groups of Friends who labor on a common task, usually meeting by video conference due to the geographic diversity of the membership. Read more…

The Resource Library

Finders Guide, a sampling of the collection

The QREC Resource Library is a place to share lessons and other educational information in support of our work as Quaker religious educators. This library is a forum for curricula, articles, videos and other educational materials on Quaker themes. You will also find principles, policies and procedures to strengthen operation of your child, youth and adult religious education programs.

Children’s Education

Adult Education

Family

African Quaker Library

Youth Education

Small Meetings

Young Adult Friends

Biblioteca QREC

Events

Find renewal, companionship, and help for nitty gritty issues in Quaker religious education, all the while opening spaces for Spirit to work and listening together for God’s way forward.

QREC holds an annual conference and retreat. In addition we hold online Conversation Circles and post other religious education events as we learn about them.

Conversation Circles

Online conferences for Quaker religious educators to share about their work. Conversations are scheduled for two sessions per topic to encourage international participation.  Join the conversation…

Other Events

Hand Icon

Religious education events of interest to Quakers from all parts of the world. Please let us know about upcoming online or in-person events happening in your area. See the list of upcoming events…

Love at the Heart

Spiritual Practices

Discernment

Active Caring

Quaker Family Culture

Finding the Light

Faith at Home

Home is the heart of faith formation for all families. This is especially true for Friends. As an experiential religion, Quakerism is best learned through living in loving community. Indeed, the vast majority of faith formation for our young Friends happens at home in the busy swirl of daily life.

Become a Member

Submit Resources

Get Announcements

Donate

Attend an Event

Contact Us

Get Involved

QREC depends on all of us sharing our gifts and skills as religious educators. Here are some of the ways you can get involved…